Most of the recent Final Fantasy games have featured some sort of skill tree to an extent, from Final Fantasy X‘s Sphere Grid to Final Fantasy XII‘s License Board. So, it does not seem like too much of a stretch for the series’ newest entry to have one as well. While the skill tree itself is not entirely breaking news, Hajime Tabata and co. recently went over the specifics associated with Final Fantasy XV‘s Ascension Skill Tree during a presentation at PAX West.

Each branch of the skill tree corresponds to the individual party members: Noctis, Gladiolus, Prompto, and Ignis. However, in a departure from the series’ normal “everyone can learn everything” motif, each tree is personalized to a specific character. For instance, Noctis’ branch has skills focused on the blink dodge and warp strike maneuvers that are unique to him, while Ignis is able to learn abilities that help analyze monsters and support the party. More so, these skills are unlocked through the use of AP, a shared pool of points gained from defeating monsters.

These individual skill lines appear to help push the theme of brotherhood that Square Enix has repeatedly said they hope to evoke. The four friends will need to work off of each other to fully realize their total potential.

In addition to the full function of the skill trees, a few other things were slyly revealed. For one, it was briefly mentioned that players are searching for weapons known as royal arms, though no reason is given. Tabata also hints (very bluntly) that Ifrit will be in the game. Final Fantasy VI fans may even notice the triumphant return of the Bioblaster and Auto-Crossbow, too!

How do you feel about this approach to skill progression in Final Fantasy XV? From what we’ve seen so far, how do you think you will build your team? Let us know in the comments below!

Source: DualShockers

Our Verdict



Leave a reply

You may also like

More in News