Archie Comics’ Sonic the Hedgehog series may have come to an unceremonious end, but it wasn’t long before SEGA of America announced their new partnership with IDW Publishing, signalling that Sonic will be making a grand return to paper and print soon. The publisher behind many licensed adaptations has since worked on recruiting staff for the Blue Blur’s second comic book run, and with what this week’s solicits have revealed, their picks could not be more perfect for fans of Archie Sonic.

IDW’s
Sonic comics launch this April with four issues releasing back-to-back weekly, kicking things off with characters old and original in a brand new story penned by the returning Ian Flynn. The comic will then go monthly past that period.

First up is the reveal of the newest member of Sonic’s team, Tangle the Lemur. IDW gave the full reveal of her character on Facebook, describing her as a kindred spirit to the hedgehog who “[moves] with the same level of athleticism and fearlessness.” Her main draw is her multipurpose tail, which can stretch, snap, grip, curl, and bash up Badniks. She will make her debut in issue #4.

Next up, we have the solicits of the first four issues, revealing more of the team behind IDW
Sonic. Returning artists from Archie Comics’ Sonic the Hedgehog include Tracy Yardley, Jamal Peppers, and Jennifer Hernandez, as well Tyson Hesse—who directed Sonic Mania‘s incredible opening sequence and worked on Sonic: MEGA DRIVE—and Adam Bryce Thomas—who collaborated with Flynn on the online Sonic Forces prequel comics. Some new faces include Mania artist Kieran Gates, IDW newcomer Nathalie Fourdraine, and the publisher’s own editors Joe Hughes and David Mariotte.

Finally, read on below for the solicits themselves, which feature release dates, crew information, and synopses for the story in each issue:


Sonic the Hedgehog #1—Cover A: Tyson Hesse

Ian Flynn (w) • Tracy Yardley (a) • Tyson Hesse (c)

SONIC’S RACING INTO A NEW ADVENTURE! After defeating the evil Dr. Eggman’s latest plot, Sonic is racing around the world to shut down the robotic Badnik forces that are still attacking villages. But it’s a big job for one hedgehog—even Sonic! Fortunately, he’ll have some help from his best friend: Tails!
*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/4/18

Sonic the Hedgehog #1—Cover B: Tracy Yardley

Ian Flynn (w) • Tracy Yardley (a & c)

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/4/18

*Retailer incentives:

Order 10 copies, get one free variant cover by Nathalie Fourdraine!

Order 25 copies, get one free variant cover featuring the characters from the issue by Rafa Knight!

Order 25 copies of issues #1-4, and get one free variant cover of issue #1 by Sonic Mania artist Kieran Gates!


Sonic the Hedgehog #2—Cover A: Tyson Hesse

Ian Flynn (w) • Adam Bryce Thomas (a) • Tyson Hesse (c)

Sonic’s new adventure continues, and when he comes across another town in need of saving, his old pal Amy arrives just in time to join the fight! The banter is fun, and the stakes are high, but things get really serious when Amy presents Sonic with a big request: rejoin the Resistance!

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/11/18

Sonic the Hedgehog #2—Cover B: Adam Bryce Thomas

Ian Flynn (w) • Adam Bryce Thomas (a & c)

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/11/18

*Retailer incentives:

Order 10 copies, get one free variant cover by Nathalie Fourdraine!

Order 25 copies, get one free variant cover featuring the characters from the issue by Jonathan Gray!


Sonic the Hedgehog #3—Cover A: Tyson Hesse
Ian Flynn (w) • Jen Hernandez (a) • Tyson Hesse (c)

Sonic and Knuckles team up, and it’s just like old times—until two new villains show up. With a group of villagers under attack, will even the combined forces of these two heroes be enough to take down Rough and Tumble???

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/18/8

Sonic the Hedgehog #3—Cover B: Jen Hernandez

Ian Flynn (w) • Jen Hernandez (a & c)

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

*Expected in-store date: 4/18/18

*Retailer incentives:

Order 10 copies, get one free variant cover by Nathalie Fourdraine!

Order 25 copies, get one free variant cover featuring the characters from the issue by Jamal Peppers!


Sonic the Hedgehog #4—Cover A: Tyson Hesse
Ian Flynn (w) • Evan Stanley (a) • Tyson Hesse (c)

Sonic comes across a town under attack from the biggest Badnik force he’s ever seen. Luckily, help is on the way from his old friend Blaze, as well as a new hero! Get ready for the debut of Tangle!

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/25/18

Sonic the Hedgehog #4—Cover B: Evan Stanley

Ian Flynn (w) • Evan Stanley (a & c)

*Retailers: See your order form for incentive information.

FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Expected in-store date: 4/25/18

*Retailer incentives:

Order 10 copies, get one free variant cover by Nathalie Fourdraine!

Order 25 copies, get one free variant cover featuring the characters from the issue by Tyson Hesse!


As for those who were still subscribed to Archie Comics’
Sonic the Hedgehog past the series’ cancellation, this week’s reveals come on the heels of another surprise move from the former home of Sonic comics. Remaining subscriptions have since been redirected to Archie’s The Mighty Crusaders series without warning, instead of loyal readers being refunded for their remaining number of issues.

What’s your first impression on IDW’s new
Sonic series? Will you be picking up the comics come April? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below, and be sure to follow the official IDW Sonic Facebook group to keep up with the latest developments.

Sources: The Sonic Stadium (1, 2), TSSZ, PREVIEWSworld

Yes
ChannelImages
Our Verdict
Top

Jeffrey McDonell
Jeffrey is a writer for Gamnesia and The Sonic Stadium, and a pianist obsessed with video game music. Loves all things Nintendo to a fault, and enjoys long walks on the Green Hill Zone. Pretty much Gamnesia's resident Sonic fan, my dude.

    Comments

    Comments are closed.

    You may also like

    More in News