NewsNintendoNintendo Switch

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Has Five Different Battle Modes Newly-Revealed


While the Nintendo Switch already has a number of new titles announced for it, Nintendo’s next console will also be getting at least one port of a Wii U gem in the form of Mario Kart 8 Deluxe. We’ve already heard about some of its new features, chief among them the revamped Battle Mode, but thus far we’ve only seen two of these modes in action. A recent PR image sent out by Nintendo, however, reveals that there are planned to be at least five, and the image hints at what exactly each mode will entail.

You can see it in the gallery below: it has five icons, the third and fourth of which obviously correspond to the previously-seen Balloon Battle and Bob-omb Blast modes. The identity of the other three modes are unconfirmed at this time, but we can certainly speculate. The first one suggests a return of the “Shine Thief” mode from Mario Kart: Double Dash!! or the “Shine Runners” mode from Mario Kart DS. The second may refer to a mode like Mario Kart Wii‘s “Coin Runners,” while the final image of a Piranha Plant remains a mystery.

Additionally, there are images showing new costumes for your racers, including a group gained through the use of
Splatoon Amiibo! That’s pretty fitting, given the new Inkling racers and Splatoon-themed Battle course, but it’s great to see that even more love is coming to Nintendo’s newest hit IP. You can check out all these images in the gallery below to see them for yourself.

What do you think of all these new features? Are they enough to make you pick up Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, or is the Wii U version of the racer still enough for you? What do you think the last Battle Mode could be like? Let us know your thoughts in the comments!

Source: NeoGAF

Our Verdict


Comments are closed.

You may also like

More in News