PewDiePie is the most popular personality on all of YouTube (in terms of subscriptions), and he’s also one of many prominent content creators who have expressed frustration with YouTube’s ever-changing policies regarding subscriptions and video recommendations. In a recent video, PewDiePie criticized alleged changes to YouTube’s algorithms (YouTube claims no such changes have been made) that are costing him and other content creators large numbers of subscribers and views.

To protest these changes, PewDiePie announced that he’d be deleting his channel when it reached 50 million subscribers. In almost no time at all, he has hit his goal, and he announced today that he plans to go through with deleting the channel tomorrow. According to the above tweet, the popular channel will cease to exist at 5:00 PM GMT tomorrow, December 9th. That’s 9:00 AM Pacific / Noon Eastern in the US.

Many believe that this is just a joke or a publicity stunt of sorts, but PewDiePie claims this isn’t the case. After his channel is deleted, he plans to start fresh with a new channel. Will he actually go through with it? I guess we’ll find out tomorrow.

No
ChannelImages
Our Verdict



Top

Ben Lamoreux

Comments

Comments are closed.

You may also like

More in News