The latest update for Super Smash Bros. has been released, and with it a slew of goodies, from the DLC Store to character balancing. There’s a lot to take in – however, one Redditor from the Smash Bros. subreddit has decrypted the Patch 1.06 files, leading us to possibly even more goodies. In his decryption, he found several sound files leading some to believe that Ryu from Street Fighter and Roy from Fire Emblem may be on the way to the DLC store. Keep in mind that this is far from confirmation.

The files were found in alongside new sound files for Mewtwo and Lucas, two previously confirmed DLC characters. The file related to Ryu is found within the victory themes alongside the Fire Emblem victory theme listed for Roy. Despite these files being found, there is always potential that they won’t be used. For example, they could also just as likely be scrapped DLC sound files (like the Ice Climbers cheer).

The sound files in question are the following:

  • snd_bgm_SF01_SF2_Ryu_3DS
  • snd_bgm_Z81_F_Ryu_3DS
  • snd_bgm_Z83_F_Roy_3DS

The person who did the decryption made an update to his original post, saying, “Most of these are victory screens, all but the first Ryu sound file which seems to be a new stage. Now here’s the kicker: Roy’s victory theme is the Fire Emblem victory theme.” He also clarifies that these files were found in the Nintendo 3DS version of the game, and that he has done no decryption for Super Smash Bros. for Wii U.

What do you make of these files? Let us know in the comments below!

Source: Reddit
Image Source: Wildgun Edge

Our Verdict


Leave a reply

You may also like

More in 3DS