Hot on the heels of the successful remastering of Crash Bandicoot, another original PlayStation classic is coming back. We’ve heard rumors and rumblings for weeks, and today we have official confirmation that the original trilogy of Spyro games is coming to modern platforms as the Spyro Reignited Trilogy. Skylanders developer Toys for Bob is handling the hotly-anticipated HD take on these beloved games.

The Spyro Reignited Trilogy comes with Spyro the Dragon, Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage, and Spyro: Year of the Dragon all remastered with improved sound and graphics. This collection will be available across PlayStation 4, PlayStation 4 Pro, Xbox One, and Xbox One X on September 21st, and it comes with a price tag of $39.99.

The Reignited Trilogy will feature a reimagining of the original soundtracks that Stewart Copeland composed for the three games. Toys for Bob did their best to recruit as many of the original voice actors to reprise their roles as possible, including Tom Kenny as the voice of Spyro himself.

Currently there are no announced plans to bring the Trilogy to PC or Nintendo Switch. IGN inquired about these possibilities, but Toys for Bob studio head Paul Yan and art director Josh Nadelberg would not comment. We’ll keep an eye on the situation for potential future announcements. In the meantime, you can check out the debut trailer above and tons of screenshots in the gallery below!

Source: IGN

Our Verdict


Ben Lamoreux


Leave a reply

You may also like

More in News