The recently announced Total War: Warhammer brings magic, flying units, and the infamous races of the Warhammer world to the Total War franchise. Amongst other things, diplomacy will change to reflect the enmity between different factions, each race will have their own strengths and weaknesses, and quests will be introduced that allow heroes to upgrade their mounts, weapons, and items.

As any Warhammer player will know, there are many races in the Warhammer world, each with their own unique identity, culture, troops, abilities, and battle techniques. For example, there is the relatively ‘good’ human Empire, which fields numerous troops, esoteric weaponry, and powerful wizards. At the other end of the spectrum are the Orcs and Goblins, green-skinned monsters who send trolls, wyverns, giants, boars, and other fearsome creatures into battle. There are also the haughty Elves, the stubborn Dwarves, the evil Chaos hordes, and many other races.

In the game, each of these races comes with multiple troop types ranging from the more numerous basic troops like warriors and archers to the rarer but much more powerful heroes, monsters, and war machines. The technology trees vary wildly for each race, allowing players to work their way up to unlocking more powerful units as they progress. Individual races will have their own strengths and weaknesses; for example, the Orcs and Goblins have their Waaagh!, the war spirit of their race that gives their rampaging more momentum with every fight they win. However, too many defeats will cause infighting and weaken your force.

In battle, fear is a constant factor that can rout armies in the face of terrifying monsters, destructive magic, and any number of other things. Braver units like the Empire Greatswords are less likely to flee, whilst lesser troops may turn tail and run if they take too much damage. Magic spells play a large part in said damage; wizards and shamans can call down comets, fry units with lightning, or empower their own troops with mystical enchantments.

Another new addition to the regular Total War structure is quests. By following a chain of narrative fights and battles, players can upgrade their heroes with new weapons, mounts, and abilities. Orc Warbosses, for example, can swap out their rickety old chariot for a Wyvern, allowing them to take to the skies. And it’s in the skies that the game brings yet another new concept: flying units. Dwarf Gyrocopters, Goblin Doom Divers, and even the Emperor’s famous griffon Deathclaw will do battle above the armies, allowing strikes into the heart of the enemy force.

Total War: Warhammer is still in the alpha stage, but it already looks set to be a great addition to the franchise.

Source: PC Gamer

Our Verdict

Sean Ayres
Everything looks so much cooler in my mind.


    Leave a reply

    You may also like

    More in News